our home ON NATIVE LAND. real justice doesn’t kill people.

Hey everyone! I’m super excited to talk about this week’s reading “Deep Rivers” by Jose Maria Arguedas. The novel dives into the Peruvian Andean culture and surrounds the story of Ernesto, who is a young boy torn between two worlds. 

Ernesto’s upbringing is a blend of his indigenous Quechua traditions and Western education as he was sent to a church-run boarding school where he was supposed to learn how to fit into white society. Despite this, he finds himself longing for the indigenous life he left behind. 

Immediately my brain starts to make MANY connections to the Indigenous residential school system in Canada. It is crazy that the last federally funded residential school closed in 1996. THAT IS NOT THAT LONG AGO. The generational trauma that was created that still impact our indigenous population today is so immense and it is such a dark part of Canada’s history that is often overlooked. I am personally very passionate about this subject so when reading the story of Ernesto it really created lots of emotion and sympathy for him as a character. Arguedas explained how Ernesto struggled with this divide between two cultures, two languages and two entire ways of living. It impacted his identity, his belonging and his faith and was just so so similar to everything i’ve learned about the impacts of the Canadian residential school system. 

What I loved about the novel was Arguedas’ emphasis on the importance of music for Ernesto. I think it is beautiful to know that despite all of the struggles they face, there is always the ability to find hope in something that brings you joy and that you love so much. Similarly how Arguedas described Ernesto’s love for Pachachaca River, it is amazing to know that he was able to find the beauty in things despite the tumultuous nature of his life and internal struggle. 

I think this story is very important. It emphasises how Indigenous culture is marginalized and suppressed through Westernization. Dispute it all, the Indigenous peoples have remained resilient not only in Canada but all over the world. It is such an amazing thing to see people fight for their culture, especially since I am a person of color from a ethnic minority myself and my culture is extremely important to me.

I think this book allowed me to reflect on the fact that Indigenous peoples are displaced and marginalized in so many communcities. It also reminded me that the situation in Canada is STILL BAD. So many reserves and Indigenous communities across Canada STILL DONT HAVE CLEAN DRINKING WATER. CLEAN. DRINKING. WATER. Like in a Country that is so “multicultural” and “inclusive” it is CRAZY that some people, NATIVE TO THIS LAND, dont even have BASIC HUMAN NECESSITIES PROVIDED TO THEM. Sorry for yelling, im angry. You should be too. 

A discussion question based on this:

From where you grew up, are you a part of an ethnic minority? If yes, how has it shaped your experience? If no, what do you think the privileges are of growing up surrounded by your people and being immersed in your culture?

7 responses to “our home ON NATIVE LAND. real justice doesn’t kill people.”

  1. Since you have mentioned the case of Canada and the way both countries treat indigenous people, what is specifically different in Peru? There are structures that seem similar to us, but the novel emphasizes particular features and dedicates much of the narrative to making them visible (and audible, as you say).

    Like

  2. I truly appreciate the parallel that you made with the Indigenous communities in Canada, your anger is justified and the discourse regarding the topic must always continue. The way Arguedas paints the Indigenous people of Peru through Ernesto’s eyes is truly fascinating and its complexities with relation to self and identity made me thoroughly enjoy the read as it truly leaves you reflecting on the flaws of our own societies.

    Like

  3. When I was reading this book I kept reflecting onto the Indigenous peoples of Canada as well. The concept of reconciliation has never been truly honoured as–like you mentioned–many Indigenous peoples are not given access to basic human necessities.

    Like

  4. Hi there Sam! I love your passion on this subject. When reading this novel, I also couldn’t stop myself from thinking about the parales this story shares with Canadian history. Although I could never begin to comprehend the hardships faced by the Indigenous peoples of Canada, lived stories, as well as this book gives us a little peak into what it’s like to be unwanted yet possessed not only in Canada, but across societies that have been shaped by colonialism.

    Answer to your question: Coming from South Africa, my background is no stranger to benefitting from the downfall of others. I see many paralles of assimilation, segregation, and degradation between Ernesto’s experinces, those of the Indigenous peoples of Canada, and Apartheid South Africa. In fact, Canada’s own Indian Act served as a model component of South Africa’s apartheid regime.

    Like

  5. Hi Sam! Really thoughtful connections you’ve made here and I agree with a lot of what you said. I never explicitly made the observation about music being incredibly important to Ernesto’s journey but it’s so true and very relatable to me personally. Thanks for this!

    Like

  6. Hi Sam! Great post! I also made a reference to the residential schools in my blog post. It was really interesting to read about how this historical generational trauma is relevant in places outside of Canada and to think about the parallels and differences. Looking forward to discussing this further in class!

    Like

  7. Hey Sam!! LOVED reading your thoughts, as always you’ve done a great job highlighting the work and making connections to our current society. I really appreciate your perspective on residential schools and tying that into what we read in Deep Rivers.

    To answer your discussion question – I grew up in Surrey, which had a huge brown community, however, around the 4th grade I moved to White Rock, which was predominately white. As you can imagine, this shift was A LOT, especially for little 9 year old me. I felt very alone and found it hard to fit in, having come from such a culturally diverse community.

    See you in class, and have a great reading break!!

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started