A SILLY LITTLE FRENCH TOWN (it’s a lot more than that realistically)

Hey everyone! I’m so excited to do this first blog entry and get started with the course! This week’s reading, Marcel Proust’s “Combray” was genuinely like stepping into a whole new universe and was so different compared to anything I’ve read before. It was tough and there were moments of difficulty reading the text but also moments of so much intrigue as well. It was a rollercoaster of a journey through memories and life in this little French town (WHICH IS SO COOL CONSIDERING I DID AN EXCHANGE IN EUROPE AND VISITED FRANCE).

Firstly, reading “Combray” was SO different and such uncharted territory. Proust’s writing style was so unique from what I have read in the past. It was complex and fancy yet so intricate at the same time. I won’t lie; it threw me for a loop at first. BUT that’s what made it SO interesting. It wasn’t the typical story you’d expect and I found myself being more interested in it BECAUSE of the confusion.  I loved thinking about how reading was sort of forbidden in Marcel’s secret study, it was so interesting. I think there were so many twists and turns that it challenged my usual reading habits as well.

There was also the Combray church, which was described so vividly it was such a beautiful aspect of the piece. It was described as not just a place of worship but also a place that is embedded with beauty and so many stories. I found it so intriguing how he can make these connections and allow us as readers to see the beauty in something that might be as simple as just a regular old church. 

The characters were also so interesting and had so many layers. I feel as if so many pieces of literature have characters that are so surface level but Proust made them feel so real in my opinion. There were also so many characters in my opinion, considering it was following someone’s life it was cool to see them represented through their interactions with so many people whether they be family or crushes it was exciting to read about. 

One of the biggest things that stood out was the whole concept of memory. Proust talks about memories hitting you out of nowhere, triggered by the most simple things such as dipping a madeleine in tea. It made me think about my memory triggers and is interesting as I read it at a time in my life when I have been doing a lot of reflection and remembering a lot of things and feeling nostalgic about it. So it was nice to be able to relate the reading to myself a bit as well. 

In the end, “Combray” isn’t just a book, it is an entire journey. It challenged, intrigued and left me with a whole new perspective on storytelling and literature. I guess it also excites me for what’s to come!

Some questions to prompt further discussion I have are:

What character in “Combray” is your favourite and why?

How did Proust’s writing style stand out to you? What was intriguing about it and what was challenging?

10 responses to “A SILLY LITTLE FRENCH TOWN (it’s a lot more than that realistically)”

  1. I can totally relate to the feeling of being thrown in a loop while reading this story. I was seriously so mixed up with my opinions. It made me feel frustrated, confused, intrigued, and entertained at so many moments. Truly a whole rollercoaster of emotions. I also have never seen this type of writing style in literary texts. I remember my grade 12 english teacher warning me about writing such long and wordy sentences, but this story was comprised of mainly that. Literally so ironic.

    Anyways, I think what was most intriguing was how he could ramble for so long, but leave me still quite entertained. It was easy in those moments to get immersed in the story!

    Like

  2. Hi! I agree that at times I was thrown off by the way the book was written. However, I agree that I felt like I was there next to the character as he was re living his memory as you really dive into his mind, feelings, and vision. To answer your question, my favourite character was the Aunt, as honestly, she just seems like a fun time and good hostess!

    Like

  3. Sam, now that you mention it… do you think that your experience in France has made you identify with the novel? To what extent can “lived” experiences determine whether we find connections with those uncharted literary territories that you mention? Does it also affect reading habits? I’d love to know your opinion on this.

    Like

  4. Hi! I enjoyed reading your blog, I find it so cool that you went on an exchange to France. I relate to when you say Combray is a whole journey in itself. To answer your question, my favourite character is Aunt Leonie. How she does the simple things such as drinking her mineral water and having her bread and only concerning herself with the 2 rooms that she stays in and the window looking into the outside world while collecting all the gossip from francoise.
    -Sofia Almerling

    Like

  5. Hey! I love how much you loved reading this book, as someone who had a harder time with it I like to see the other side! Referring to your questions, I both loathed and loved the amount of detail that Proust includes in his writing about the mundane tasks in life and my favourite character is Aunt Léonie. I just think she is very funny.

    Like

  6. I agree that the book, especially those first 10 or so pages were quite difficult to read before getting used to the writing style. I appreciate hearing from a different perspective as I was not very fond of the book myself and it is nice to hear from someone who enjoyed it. I found the novel rather boring, but touching on your discussion question, I thoroughly enjoyed reading about aunt Leonie, as I found her to be one of the more humorous and complex characters in the novel. A question I have for you is, having had experience living in Europe and visiting France, were you able to connect more to events in the story?

    Like

  7. Hi Sam! I love the title of your post 🙂 I was quite shocked at the length of the sentences and how psychologically deep Proust’s writing was. It was difficult to follow along at times, but I just ended up moving on if I didn’t understand what was going on.

    Like

  8. I totally get what you mean, the writing style and difficulty in reading it which is what actually drew me in, and made me feel proud once I completed it. It is funny because in my psychology class I am currently reading about memory, and how the default mode network of the brain is what is responsible for our minds wondering. I totally identify with the idea that our memories can sometimes come out of nowhere, and it is funny what can trigger that! Deja Vu I think is a perfect example of that 🙂

    Like

  9. Hey Sam! I always love reading your work, you make great points and I love your perspective on things 🙂 I also related to being able to look back and think about my memory triggers. I’m not sure why but power outages are very nostalgic to me, something about the dark and having candles and flashlights brings me back to my childhood. I think it’s because when power outages happened my family and I would play board games in the candle/flashlight and I always loved that! Look forward to reading more of your stuff 🙂

    Like

  10. I REALLY appreciate your use of capitals in this blog! I did not do exchange in Europe, but I have been there and the churches are really that beautiful. Architecture in Europe, as I am sure you know, surpasses many countries in the world and I also thought it was cool that even though I have not visited the specific town of combray, I could picture what he was talking about. It was like you said, nice to be able to relate to something in the book.

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started