Perception of Poverty – A discussion surrounding the life of Silvio

Hey everyone! I finished reading Roberto Arlt’s “Mad Toy” this week and it was so interesting to see the life of Silvio Astier unfold. It is a classic story about wanting more while stuck in a troubled space such as poverty. This is an old piece of literature and I believe it is also Arlt’s first novel which makes it that much better in hindsight. 

One thing I found interesting about the novel was the structure itself. Arlt explains Silvio’s life through a series of episodes. The story is not exactly entirely straightforward forward yet each episode adds to the reader’s understanding of Silvio’s desires for self-discovery. We learn more and more about Silvio in each part about his desires, frustrations and the struggle between reality and imaginative desires.

What I took from the novel was that Silvio was aiming to be against the grain of those in poverty which is what led him to have interest and fixations on weapons and thievery. For example, he formed a “thieves’ club” and I feel the fact that he founded it means more than he was just wanting to steal. I think it meant more to him than simple thievery. He stole things such as books from a library which shows that it wasn’t just about the money as well. 

Speaking of money, I also found it interesting to analyze Silvio’s relationship with money. Arlt kind of showed that Silvio has a specific connection the money that was gained through stealing or illegal practices and values it in a specific way.  It makes you question what is truly valuable if the money inherently costs so much internally or in a moral sense. 

I also found it interesting that his connection with money is so intertwined with his connection with the idea of love. I think what I liked about it is that it really shows the contrast between the life he desires in comparison to the life he lives. Coming from poverty it is understandable to desire much more, yet the methods he goes about it sort of contradict the life he wants to live in a way in my opinion. 

I am really curious as to why the novel is titled “Mad Toy” and the significance behind that. The third part is also titled “Mad Toy” which mainly focuses on Silvio’s suicide attempt, so im wondering how that relates and if maybe Arlt is trying to compare Silvio to a sort of toy that is aimlessly operating?

Regardless, it was definitely a good read and an interesting one to see all of the aspects of Silvio’s life. I think also living in Vancouver and taking into consideration the hundreds of people in poverty here, it really makes you question what they go through and if some of them perceive the world similarly. I think for me it also puts my own life in perspective and gives me a lottttt of things to be grateful for. 

A question that could further discussion could be:

If you’re from Vancouver, how has this novel changed or impacted your perception of the population in Vancouver that is in poverty? If you are not from Vancouver, are there a lot of individuals in poverty from back home? How has this novel impacted your perception of that population in poverty?

3 responses to “Perception of Poverty – A discussion surrounding the life of Silvio”

  1. “I think it meant more to him than simple thievery. He stole things such as books from a library which shows that it wasn’t just about the money as well.”

    Indeed, and the fact that that he gives the thieves’ club such a (let’s call it) “Romantic” name–the “Club of the Midnight Horsemen”–shows that he’s imitating a model, coming from the adventure fiction featuring gentlemen criminals such as Rocambole (hugely popular at the time).

    Like

  2. Hey there! I really enjoyed your blog post. To answer your discussion question I was born and raised in North Vancouver so I’ve seen the poverty get worse over the years. I now empathize deeper with homeless or people who are struggling because I can’t (and shouldn’t) assume their life and what they have been through to get to that moment.

    Like

  3. Hi Sam!

    You are making some great points and have definitely got my brain turning! I loved how you connected the reading to the current climate and society that we live in. I too grew up close to Vancouver – I’m from White Rock. Vancouvers poverty issue has been something that has interested me for as long as I can remember. Toronto and Vancouver have the highest rate of homeless people which breaks my heart. I think it sucks to be living in a city that has been developing like crazy and becoming a hot spot for people to live, while we are unable to help such a large population of people who already live here but have no home. This weeks reading definitely reminded me of how broken the world can be and how difficult it is to break the cycle of poverty. It was interesting to see how Silvio’s character evolved throughout the novel, highlighting the harsh realities of a society that seems rigged against the less fortunate.

    Great work on your blog! Looking forward to hearing more of your thoughts next week:) Have a great weekend!!

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started